What’s next?

You may have noticed that I’ve been a vocal critic of some of the policies of our elected officials, including Mayor Jack Young and Governor Larry Hogan. I just want to be clear, this fight has never been personal for me. We small business owners are just fighting for a level playing field, a chance to survive—and in a way that protects our staff, our customers, and, to be honest, the considerable investment we’ve all made in our respective communities, as well.

I welcome the recent decision to allow for outdoor dining, which is a very small step in the right direction, and I applaud both the Mayor and the Governor for arriving at the right decision. In Baltimore City, we still need to do more for small retailers: there is *absolutely* no reason why you can walk into a Walmart or any other big box retailer, but not a small, independent retail store. Our elected officials need to stop picking winners and losers and level the paying field for every business as we attempt to return to a sense of normalcy. We can do this safely.

As for restaurants, I now call on the Mayor and Governor to promulgate recommended protocols that offer guidance to all restaurants as to how to proceed safely. Many other cities, states, restaurant industry associations, and large restaurant chains have created blueprints and playbooks that answer the many questions like “how can guests safely use a public restroom now that outdoor dining is permitted.” We have the answers, but it falls to the Mayor and the Governor to publicly endorse a plan so that all restaurant operators, not just the large chains, have access to the proper guidance and protocols. Many of us have invested lots of time and effort thinking about these issues and benchmarking best practices in our industry, but we shouldn’t “go it alone.” I know I can speak for the entire restaurant community when I say, We can and will do this safely; let’s arm *every* restaurant, regardless of size, with the information they need to ensure we’re doing our absolute best to safeguard the health of our staff and the public health, as well.

In Little Italy, we now call on the Mayor to expedite action on our plan to implement temporary street closures on High Street for outdoor dining, a plan even the Governor endorsed. I stand ready to work with the Mayor, the BDC, and city agencies to facilitate this in a way that respects the concerns of all stakeholders (after all, I’m a Little Italy resident myself).

I salute all those who work in small businesses. We all have a lasting impact in our respective communities. We’re real, brick-and-mortar places you can visit, not virtual “castles in the cloud,” so to speak. Thanks to the support of the community of customers who champion and support our small businesses, we employ thousands, we create lifelong memories together, and we contribute to the vitality of our community at large.

As always, I thank you, the public, for your support. We would have never made any progress without you. Please continue to stand with me as we see this through. We all, all of us, face many challenges in the weeks and months ahead. If you’re still reading this, I know I can safely say “we’re in this together!” And on behalf of all of our small businesses and staff, I thank you for your support. God bless us all ❤️🙏🏻

PS At my restaurant, Aldo’s Ristorante Italiano, we’re on furlough right now. I’ve just ordered outdoor furniture and we’re scheduled to reopen on Friday, June 5, 2020, assuming the city assists us with temporary street closures. Just FYI. Join us on June 5!! Ty!

Sergio Vitale
Aldo’s Ristorante Italiano
Baltimore’s Most Celebrated Italian Restaurant
306 South High Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21202

410.727.0700 | http://www.AldosItaly.com

Leave a comment